Skip to main content


How To Clear File Explorer & Run Menu History


Every time you physically type a directory In the address bar of File Explorer with the Intention to access It thereafter, Windows automatically saves It for future reference. The same applies when you enter specific keywords In the Run menu to execute tools, programs and applications. If you're sharing your PC with multiple users, you may wish to delete every entry, hence In this tutorial, I will show you how to clear the File Explorer & Run Menu History.


Before I begin, here's what I'm referring to. Upon navigating to File Explorer and hitting the drop-down menu In the address bar, a list of entries that I physically typed, are displayed as shown below.


Similarly, the Run menu displays the commands and keywords that were previously entered In It's Input field.



So what's the big deal about the saved history you ask? Well, that depends on the nature of your computing environment. For example, If you've entered Identifiable keywords that're relative to sensitive files and folders, users who are sharing your PC can view the names with a click of the mouse- regardless If you've removed them from your computer.

As such, I will demonstrate how to clear both the File Explorer and Run menu history with Incredible ease. So without further ado, let's rip Into this tutorial.

Step One:

In terms of File Explorer per se, the process Is very easy. Simply right-click This PC In the address bar, and select Delete history as Illustrated below. This will not affect the history stored In the Run menu.


Step Two:

To clear the history In both File Explorer and the Run menu, open File Explorer and click on the View tab, and then hit Options.


Step Three:

Then simply hit Clear and to finalize the process, click the OK button. The history will now be cleared In File Explorer and the Run menu. I'll make sure It's taken effect In the next couple of steps.


Step Four:

Upon hitting the arrow In the drop-down menu, as you can see, the history In File Explorer has been deleted.


Last Step:

As expected, the same result has taken effect In the drop-down menu of the Run menu.


Final Thoughts:

The good thing about this, Is that you can choose to delete only the history stored In File Explorer (without having an Impact on the Run menu), or simply clear the lot. As mentioned toward the beginning of this article, If you've navigated to directories containing sensitive files by typing their respective file names In the address bar of File Explorer, anyone who's sharing your PC can view the history. As a result, be sure to make It a habit to periodically clear It.



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

How To Decode The Windows 10 Product Key

Every Windows 10 operating system that's Installed and activated on the computer, has what's called a Product Key , that Is either pre-Installed by the manufacturer, or added by the end user when formatting their PC. In order to have a fully-functional OS, It must contain a valid Product Key. Whilst there are many tools that can extract It from the operating system, In this tutorial, I will show you how to manually decode the Product Key.

How To Create A Fake File Of Any File Size

Depending on your business environment or Individual requirements, sometimes there Is the need to test files of a given capacity. Such tests can Include Identifying how well your hard disks perform under heavy read/write operations, or to establish whether files can be securely deleted beyond recovery. Whatever the reason may be, In this tutorial, I will show you how to create a fake file of any file size. 

Add The Briefcase Feature To Windows 10

Since the release of Windows 95 right through to Windows 7, a built-In utility named Briefcase allows you to store and synchronize files between two or more computers, as well as removable media such as a USB flash drive. In Windows 10 however, It's no longer available but It can still be created. As such, In this tutorial, I will show you how to add the Briefcase feature back Into Windows 10 .