Skip to main content


Securely Disable System Restore In Windows 10


Windows has a native utility named "System Restore", which basically takes a snapshot of your operating system, and stores It In the form of Restore Points. If your PC corrupts, you can select any Restore Point and your computer will go back to when It was functioning correctly. This also means that anyone with physical access to your system, can do the same. In this tutorial, I will show you how or securely disable System Restore.


So what's the purpose of this? Well, If you have multiple users on your PC and a System Restore Is performed, It will undo certain changes and If you've previously Installed applications and personalized your PC, they may well be affected.

As a safeguard, I will demonstrate how to securely disable It using the Group Policy Editor, which Is native to Windows 10 Pro, Enterprise and Education Editions. So without further delay, let's rip Into this tutorial.

Step One:
To access System Restore, navigate via the following directory:
Control Panel > System and Security > System > System protection

You will then see the System Restore option as Illustrated below. This Is what will be disabled.



Step Two:
We'll disable It via the Group Policy Editor, by firstly opening the Run menu, entering gpedit.msc and then hitting OK.



Step Three.
The Group Policy Editor window will now open, so navigate to the following directory:
Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > System > System Restore

Then on the right pane, double-click on Turn off System Restore as shown below.



Step Four:
To the left of the window, click the Enabled radio button and to finalize the process, hit OK.



Last Step:
Now let's see If the change has taken effect. As per Step One above, I've accessed System Restore and as you can see, the option Is Grayed out, hence securely disabled.



Final Thoughts:
Without question, System Restore serves It's purpose very well Indeed, by reverting your operating system to a previously functioning state. However, as already mentioned, applications and personalized settings can be lost If a given user decides to do It without your knowledge. It's so simple to securely disable It, thus makes perfect sense to do just that.

To reverse the change and have System Restore accessible as per It's original state, go back to Step Four above and select the Not Configured radio button. Don't forget to hit OK.



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

How To Decode The Windows 10 Product Key

Every Windows 10 operating system that's Installed and activated on the computer, has what's called a Product Key , that Is either pre-Installed by the manufacturer, or added by the end user when formatting their PC. In order to have a fully-functional OS, It must contain a valid Product Key. Whilst there are many tools that can extract It from the operating system, In this tutorial, I will show you how to manually decode the Product Key.

How To Create A Fake File Of Any File Size

Depending on your business environment or Individual requirements, sometimes there Is the need to test files of a given capacity. Such tests can Include Identifying how well your hard disks perform under heavy read/write operations, or to establish whether files can be securely deleted beyond recovery. Whatever the reason may be, In this tutorial, I will show you how to create a fake file of any file size. 

How To Rename Any Power Plan In Windows 10

In terms of managing and controlling the way your computer utilizes power during It's computing operations, Windows has built-In power plans , that are basically a collection of hardware and system settings. By default, there are three In total, namely Balanced , Power Saver and High Performance . Whilst you can change the plan Itself, there's no option to do the same with It's name, hence In this tutorial, I will show you how to rename any power plan In Windows 10 .