The Windows Recycle Bin, acts as a safeguard when deleting files and folders from your computer, whereby all deleted files are first sent there, and remain as such until you decide otherwise. In the event you've accidentally deleted a file/folder, It can easily be restored to It's original directory. If you wish to permanently delete them Instead of sending to the Recycle Bin, In this tutorial, I will show you exactly how It's done.
Once this setting Is applied, every time you attempt to delete a file or folder, rather than prompting to send It to the Recycle Bin, you'll be asked to permanently delete It- as displayed In the Image above.
So what's the advantage of this? Well, not everyone remembers to periodically empty the Recycle Bin, hence If you've moved a file containing sensitive Information such as usernames & passwords, anyone with physical or remote access, can restore the file and view It's contents. Another advantage, Is that It will free up hard disk space on your PC, by not storing anything In the Recycle Bin.
To achieve this, I shall be using the Group Policy Editor, that's only available In Windows 10 Pro, Enterprise and Education editions. If you have either of these, then read on. So let's rip Into this tutorial.
To access the Group Policy Editor, open the Run menu, enter gpedit.msc and hit OK.
The Group Policy window will now open, so navigate to the following directory:
User Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > File Explorer
On the right pane, double-click on:
Do not move deleted files to the Recycle Bin
To the left of the window, select the Enabled radio button, and then click OK to finalize the process.
I've applied the above step, right-clicked my folder and selected Delete. As you can see, It prompts to permanently delete It, and not send It to the Recycle Bin.
There's no right or wrong, as to whether this setting Is worthy of It's Implementation. The upside Is, that files and folders, particularly those that contain sensitive Information, will bypass the Recycle Bin and be permanently deleted. The downside Is, If you've made an error of judgement, then say goodbye to your data. So prior to confirming the delete, double-check to ensure you're making the correct decision.
To reverse the change, go back to Step Three and select the Not Configured radio button.